City of Joburg to honour the brave women

Parks TauOn behalf of the Executive Mayor of Johannesburg, Councillor Parks Tau, the media is invited to a Freedom of the City Conferment Ceremony in honour of the brave women who participated in the 1956 March on Thursday, 15 August 2013.

The City of Johannesburg will bestow its highest honour -The Freedom of the City Award- to four women stalwarts of our country’s liberation struggle who participated in the 1956 March. These are: Sophie De Bruin, Lillian Ngoyi, Helen Joseph and Rahima Moosa.

The Freedom of the City is the highest recognition a City can pay to acknowledge a person’s contribution to the welfare of the city and its inhabitants.

Details of the ceremony are as follows:
Date: Thursday, 15 August 2013
Time: 11:00 am
Venue: Hall 8, Nasrec
Cnr Rand Show & Nasrec Road, Nasrec – Johannesburg

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.