Winners of the 2014 National INSETA Disability Awards announced



The 2014 INSETA National Disability Awards were hosted in a glittering function at the Cape Sun on December 2, 2014.

INSETA initiated the National Disability Awards in 2009, focusing predominantly on recognising disability service delivery excellence in the insurance industry by issuing winners with certificates of recognition. The 2014 National Disability Awards focused on highlighting the achievements and contributions of disability rights activists and organisations over the past 20 years of democracy, and it was therefore only logical that the majority of the 2014 Award winners are disability rights veterans with disabilities. The former Department of Women, Children and People with Disabilities became involved in 2012, working with INSETA on increasing the profile, broadening the categories, the target audience and the calibre of award winners. Winners were issued with trophies and the winner of the Young Leader Disability Award received an INSETA education bursary. An engagement process will commence in January 2015 with regards revamping the National Disability Awards following calls from the sector, and it is envisaged that the National Disability Awards will be ‘localised’ in 2015 with provincial awards preceding the national awards, that categories will be linked to development programmes and that more sponsors will be brought on board.

ACSA and the MTN SA Foundation graciously responded to the call to co-sponsor the prizes for the 2014 Awards winners with INSETA, building on the United Nations theme for the 2014 International Day of Persons with Disabilities of “Sustainable Development: The Promise of Technology”, with prizes in the form of technology and connectivity.

Winners were however not only recipients, but also graciously accepted responsibilities as provincial ACSA assistive technology ambassadors.

They will be identifying a deserving young person with a disability in their allocated provinces as beneficiaries of enabling assistive technology, will become mentors to these young persons, and will liaise with the ACSA CSI team and regional airport managers on improving lifestyles of persons with disabilities through access to assistive technology for disadvantaged persons with disabilities.

The 2014 INSETA National Disability Awards winners are:

National Young Leader Disability Award – Thabang Manamela

Entrepreneur Disability Award ­- Ms Sebenzile Matsebula, Adv. Jerry Nkeli

National Champion Disability Award – Judge Jody Kollapen, Mr. Raymond Ackerman

National Company Disability Award – MTN SA Foundation, MassMart

National Higher Education Institution Award – E University of Limpopo, False Bay FET College Aw

National Woman Achievement Disability Award – Ms Joyce Sibeko, Ms Nomasonto Mazibuko

Life Time Achievement Disability Award – Mr Mike du Toit, Mr Shuaib Chalklen, Mr Lucas Magongwa, Ms Washiela Sait, Justice Zak Yacoob and Mr Jabulani Ngcobo.

Posthumous Disability Award – Ms Phindi Mavuso

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.