Motlanthe appoints SABC Board

After a robust interviewing and selection process, acting President Kgalema Motlanthe has appointed the new SABC Board.

In a statement on Wednesday 25 September, Mac Maharaj, the spokesman in The Presidency, said: “Motlanthe, in his capacity as Acting President of the Republic, has in terms of section 13 (1) of the Broadcasting Act, 1999 (Act 4 of 1999), appointed 12 non-executive members of the Board of the South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC), for a period of five years with effect from 25 September 2013.”

The appointment comes after the board members were shortlisted by Parliament’s Portfolio Committee on Communications who recommended 12 names for the board vacancies after a process of lobbying and interviews.

The names were forwarded to the National Assembly on Thursday.

Amongst those that Motlanthe appointed include Ellen Tshabalala, the interim board member, her deputy Noluthando Gosa, former Public Service Commission member Vusumuzi Mavuso and chartered accountant Ronnie Lubisi.

Rachel Kalidaas, Thembinkosi Bonakele, Nomvuyo Mhlakaza, Bongani Khumalo, Mbulaheni Maguvhe, Krish Naidoo, Aaron Tshidzumba and Hope Zinde, who is a former SABC presenter, are the other members that form part of the board.

Kgalema Motlanthe“Acting President Motlanthe congratulated all the new members of the SABC Board and wished them well in the new endeavours,” Maharaj said in a statement.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.