Ellen Tshabalala is new chairperson of SABC Board

Ellen Tshabalala

President Jacob Gedley’hlekisa Zuma has appointed Ellen Tshabalala as the chairperson of the new SABC board.

In a statement made today, the Presidency also announced that Mbulaheni Maguvhe would serve the board as Tshabalala’s deputy chairperson.

The Presidency also said Tshabalala, who was the chairperson of the interim board, brings a wealth of experience on board, having previously held senior management positions at Standard Bank, Transnet, the SA Post office and also having served on several boards of directors.

Maguvhe, an associate Professor at the University of South Africa’s department of inclusive education, co-founded the South African National Association of the blind and partially sighted and has worked extensively at the South African National Council for the Blind. He started his career as a teacher in at Tshilidzini Special School, Shayandima, Limpopo.

“We congratulate Ms Tshabalala, Professor Maguvhe and all other members of the SABC board on their new positions and we wish them well in their new responsibilities,” said Zuma.

Maguvhe has also served in boards of various institutions including the national Department of Education where he advocated for better education for the visually impaired and served on ministerial advisory committee on literacy back in 2007.

Tshabalala and Maguvhe’s appointments comes after deputy President Kgalema Motlanthe, who acted as President while Zuma was away on official business, announced the appointment of 12 board members who had been shortlisted by Parliament’s Portfolio Committee on Communications last week.

Other members of the new board include former Public Service Commission member Vusumuzi Mavuso and chartered accountant Ronnie Lubisi.

Rachel Kalidaas, Thembinkosi Bonakele, Nomvuyo Mhlakaza, Bongani Khumalo, Krish Naidoo, Aaron Tshidzumba and Hope Zinde, who is a former SABC presenter, are the other members that form part of the board.

The board is appointed to serve for a five-year term. – SANews.gov.za

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.